Bienenstock Library awards students for its 2022 design competition


HIGH POINT – The Bienenstock Furniture Library has named the winners of its 2022 annual student design competitions for furniture and interior design, awarding a total of $15,000 to the top performers and their schools.

For this year’s furniture challenge, students submitted an original design for a chair that is ideal for marketing to either or both residential and contract trade industry segments. The competition criteria states that designs should be aesthetically pleasing and suitable for manufacturing within the financial and technical constraints of mass production.

In the furniture design competition, the library received 47 entries from eight colleges, including Appalachian State University, Indiana University, Kansas State, Kendall College of Art & Design, Savannah College of Art & Design, University of Houston, University of Central Oklahoma and Weber State.

Boya Zhang at Kendall College of Art & Design secured first place for her Breezy chair, designed with nursing mothers in mind, as well as for use after the early phase of parenting. Oliver McCarthy at Kendall College of Art & Design earned second place and a $1,500 cash prize, his chair reflecting a “compelling design that could be seen in a luxury hotel”, according to Scott Coley, a judge from the panel.

Pedro Sandoval, who studies at the University of Houston, received an Honorable Mention award for his “sleek, graceful curves with strong metal framing” in a modern design, said panel judge Royale Wiggin.

Interior design students were asked to conceive a holistic day spa specializing in therapeutic treatment for multiple sclerosis patients in which medical staff live on the premises. The library received 35 entries from eight schools, including Forsyth Technical Community College, High Point University, Savannah College of Art & Design, Pittsburgh State, Saddleback College, University of Idaho, Virginia Tech and Winthrop.

Apurva Gupta at SCAD was awarded first place and $5,000 for her White Lotus therapeutic spa and residential facility. Eugenia Dittmar, also a student at SCAD, earned second place and $1,500 for her “creative use of lighting” as noted by judge Jessica Alpert. Another student at SCAD, Joyce Reyes, received the honorable mention for her spot rendering concept and a color palette that blended well with the natural environment, according to the judges.

All students submitted their final projects for consideration in the 2022 Annual Design Competition in December. Project work typically occurs in the fall semester of the junior or senior year leading up to the winter submission deadline. Graduate students were also eligible for participation.

In addition to the cash awards for students, the design department at each first-place winner’s school received a $1,000 prize.

The winning project briefs may be viewed on the Bienenstock Furniture Library website.

Judges for the 2022 furniture competition included Richard Frinier, Richard Frinier Design Studio; Danny Davis, Davis Furniture Inds.; Dudley Moore, ASFD, Otto & Moore Inc.; Royale Wiggin, Thayer Coggin Inc.; Scott Coley, D. Scott Coley Designs; Vivian Beer, Vivian Beer Studio Works; and David Williams, Wits End Design.

Judges for the 2022 interior design competition included Christi Spangle, Barbour Spangle Design; June Anderson, ASID; Kara Cox, Kara Cox Designs; Holly Woodward, Woodward House of Design, Gwen Emery, NCSU; Jessica Alpert, Gensler; Bri Verstat, Barbour Spangle Design; Elizabeth Scruggs, Superior Construction & Design.


Source link

Home Decor Ideas Trending Master Bathroom Mirror Ideas for Your Home